100 (monologues) by Eric Bogosian

by TCG News

in TCG Books

Post image for 100 (monologues) by Eric Bogosian

We are pleased to announce the publication of 100 (monologues) by Eric Bogosian. The book is a collection of Bogosian’s acclaimed monologues, which were originally performed as part of his six Off-Broadway solo shows that premiered between 1980 and 2000.

“Mr. Bogosian has crossed the line that separates an exciting artist from a cultural hero. What Lenny Bruce was to the 1950s, Bob Dylan to the 1960s, Woody Allen to the 1970s—that’s what Eric Bogosian is to this frightening moment of drift…I know of no one else like him in pop culture right now.”
― Frank Rich, New York Times

100 (monologues) collects all of Eric Bogosian’s monologues, originally performed as part of his acclaimed solo shows, including Sex, Drugs, Rock & Roll; Pounding Nails in the Floor with my Forehead; Wake Up and Smell the Coffee; Drinking in America; funHouse; Men Inside and selections from his play Talk Radio. For these shows, Bogosian was awarded three Obie Awards and a Drama Desk Award—earning him living-icon status in the downtown theatre scene. The book’s release coincides with the launch of www.100monologues.com, a website that features videos of all of the book’s monologues, each performed by a different renowned actor.

One of America’s premier performers and most innovative and provocative artists, Eric Bogosian’s other plays and solo work include subUrbia (Lincoln Center Theater, 1994; adapted to film by director Richard Linklater, 1996); Griller; Humpty Dumpty; 1+1 and Skunkweed (published as Sex Plays, TCG, 2013); Talk Radio (The New York Shakespeare Festival, 1987; adapted to film by director Oliver Stone, 1988; Broadway premiere, 2007; Pulitzer Prize finalist). Bogosian has starred in a wide variety of film, TV and stage roles and is the author of three novels.